Conquering the Counter Clutter

Clutter happens.


I recently posted this picture of my kitchen island counter on Facebook stating that this was one of my goals to tackle during March Break. My counter had become a catch-all and dumping zone for everything from grocery flyers, empty containers, school work and toys.

Copy of File_008I did not know what a reaction this picture would have!  Some were amazed that so much stuff could occupy such a small area.  My organized friends couldn’t wait to see the after and cheered me on.  Another group of friends were so thankful that their home felt normal after seeing this picture.  Each commented that they have a spot in their house that looks just like this.

I must admit, I don’t enjoy my counter looking this way, but life has been hectic lately with 3 kids in hockey and teaching full time. I felt a great sense of accomplishment when I got that counter cleared and organized.  The blue bin felt the brunt of this clean-up and I want to set a goal to sort things more regularly and NOT let it get this bad again.  We’ll see how that one goes…

934048_10156659530780331_2846179093072087912_n

This is what my island counter really looks like in its pristine condition.  March 14, 2016

Want help getting your own home organized?  Home Storage Solutions is one of my favourite go-to websites and I also get monthly emails giving suggestions for conquering clutter one day at a time.  Below are two links so that you too can get organized. Next goal: to put the calendars to use!

http://www.home-storage-solutions-101.com/organized-home.html

52 Weeks To An Organized Home: Join The Weekly Challenges

About Horseshoes

I am a mother, wife, educator, new blogger and social media junkie. Most who know me say I have a horseshoe placed strategically as I seem to win lots of things. This blog is to document my journey.
This entry was posted in Household, Organization, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

